From seed to table in 5 months

I may be a city girl, but not so much that I don’t get the whole food comes from the ground and need careful nurturing before it reaches the store.  Yet, I’m still totally amazed at watching the process first hand on my window sill and balcony.

Take the humble courgette – zucchini to some of you 😉   A seed planted my little ole me and grown on overcrowded window sill, as if by magic peaks through the soil as a little showing of green.  The in what seems like forever at the times becomes this

And the all of a sudden this appears

So many possible uses.  After all the love and care that went into growing this, I wanted to out it to good use.   It ended up in an unplanned thrown together quinoa salad, which turned out to be a light and lovely dinner.

To make enough for 2 (dinner for just me tonight, and handy leftovers for my lunch tomorrow) I boiled half a cup of quinoa in 1 cup of water.  As this cooked I sautéed slices of my precious courgette/zucchini with garlic, chilli flakes and a splash of balsamic vinegar.

I also sauteed up some asparagus and chestnut mushrooms.

I mixed up the cooked quinoa and veggies, added a little olive oil, lemon juice and snipped chives; and topped this concoction with avocado and goats cheese.

I think I did my little courgette proud.  Now I just need to think what to do with all the others coming through.  Zucchini bread will definitely be in the agenda.  Anyone got any other suggestions?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by warriorofmetal on August 16, 2012 at 8:16 am

    yeah, you (1) cut it lengthwise and (2) scrape out at least half of the flesh. So you have kind of “boats”. (3) Mix the flesh with whatever is in your fridge … tomatoes, minced meat (fried), cheese & add spices. (4) Refill the mixture into the zucchini-“boats” again. put it in the oven. Hm, for one person it might be a little energy-costly though …
    Had tons of zucchini last year 🙂
    Cheers

    Reply

  2. That looks perfect. And I’m all about the zuchinni bread. Remember, you can make more than one loaf and freeze those suckers.

    Reply

  3. Looks yummy! Love the combination!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

